Inspire Education's news

Trainer and Assessor Credential Requirements (Updated) — What You Need to Know

0 Comments   Posted:   by

Overtime and going home late is now a work health and safety issue

Last April 2016, the core units for the TAE40116 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment qualification were updated in order to include the TAEASS502 Design and Develop Assessment tools and the TAELLN411 Address Adult Language, Literacy and Numeracy Skills.

In line with this update, Training and Assessments Skills Ministers have agreed to update the Training and Assessment Credential Requirements — all to ensure the VET workforce has the necessary and appropriate skills in designing and developing assessment tools, as well as identifying LLN requirements.

Trainers and Assessors had until 1 July 2019 to meet the new credential requirements.

Learn more about the requirements below:


I. Who are affected?

nervous womanRTOs must ensure that all their services/training meet the latest standards for RTOs.

This includes trainer and assessor credential requirements for all of the RTO’s trainer and assessors.

It’s always good to be on top of everything and make sure that your RTO will deliver to its full potential and provide excellent training and service to your clients.


II. What are the Qualifications needed?

In order to hold the latest credentials as a trainer and assessor, the TAE40116 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment course is the must-have qualification.

The current Cert IV TAE already contains the relevant units required to be an eligible trainer and assessor, which means having this qualification under your belt will not require you to take any further studies.

However, if in case you already hold the superseded TAE40110 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment course, then you have to take ONE of the following units:

1. TAELLN411 Address adult language, literacy and numeracy skills or its successor or

2. TAELLN401A Address adult language, literacy and numeracy skills and ONE of the following:

TAEASS502 Design and develop assessment tools or its successor
TAEASS502A Design and develop assessment tools
TAEASS502B Design and develop assessment tools

Or, you may also opt to upgrade your TAE40110 qualification into the latest TAE40116 Cert IV TAE.

The deadline for RTOs and trainers to be able to get a hold of the updated credentials was on 1st July 2019.


Got Questions?

If you have more concerns and queries about the latest credential requirements for trainers and assessors, you may visit the following web pages and learn more here:

1. Australian Skills Quality Authority

2. Western Australia Training Accreditation Council

3. Victorian Registration and Qualification Authority


You can also visit Inspire Education’s webpage if you have any concerns regarding the TAE40116 Certificate IV in Training and Assessment qualification.

If you found this blog helpful, you may want to


The following two tabs change content below.

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply


Could you please amend the form? We’ve highlighted the problem(s) for you...